60th St. Louis Baseball Writer’s Dinner

You’re invited to join 101ESPN on Sunday, January 14th at The Union Station Hotel for the premier baseball event of the off-season; the 60th annual Baseball Writers’ Dinner.

Awards recipients this year include:

  • The Red Schoendienst Medal – to Bob Gibson for his Hall of Fame career and Invaluable Service to Baseball
  • The Lou Brock Award to Dee Gordon of the Miami Marlins for leading the National League in stolen bases
  • The American League Cy Young Award to native-St. Louisan Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals)
  • The Silver Slugger Award as the top hitting pitcher in the National League to Adam Wainwright

To commemorate the 60th-Anniversary of the St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner BBWAA members will be naming and honoring the Cardinals of the Decade from the 1950’s to the 2010’s.

1950’s – Red Schoendienst

1960’s – Bob Gibson, Tim McCarver, Mike Shannon (Ken Boyer)

1970’s – Ted Simmons, Keith Hernandez, Lou Brock (Joe Torre)

1980’s – Willie McGee, Bruce Sutter, Whitey Herzog (Ozzie Smith)

1990’s – Mark McGwire, Tony LaRussa, Ray Lankford

2000’s – Jim Edmonds, David Eckstein, Scott Rolen, Jason Isringhausen (Albert Pujols)

2010’s – Chris Carpenter, Adam Wainwright, David Freese, Yadier Molina

Other Honoree’s and Presentations

  • J.G. Taylor Spink St. Louis Baseball Man of the Year: Tommy Pham
  • Stockton / Broeg Award for Outstanding Achievement in Baseball: Carlos Martinez, Jose Martinez, Stubby Clapp
  • Hyland / Hummel Award for Special Achievement in Sport: Retired MLB Umpire “Cowboy” Joe West
  • Herman / Ostermeier Award for Cardinals Rookie of the Year: Paul DeJong
  • The Daryl Kile Award: Zack Duke
  • The Good Guy Award: Joe Abernathy, St. Louis Cardinals Vice President, Facility Planning and Engineering
  • Cardinals Organizational Player of the Year: To be named
  • Cardinals Minor League Pitcher of the Year: To be named

For tickets and additional details visit,, or call 314-534-1111